The Rural Desert Southwest Brownfields Coalition

About the RDSBC

The Rural Desert Southwest Brownfields Coalition is comprised of the Duckwater Shoshone Tribe and six rural counties: Esmeralda, Inyo, Lincoln, Mineral, Nye, and White Pine. The Coalition partners are using EPA Brownfields grant funds to assess local brownfields within their communities and complete the studies necessary to move forward with cleanup and redevelopment. The ultimate goals of the Coalition are to eliminate threats to human health and the environment, revitalize local neighborhoods, and grow the local economy.

What is a Brownfield?

A Brownfield is “real property, the expansion, redevelopment, or reuse of which may be complicated by the presence or potential presence of a hazardous substance, pollutant, or contaminant.” In 2002, the Small Business Liability Relief and Brownfields Revitalization Act was passed to help states and communities around the country cleanup and revitalize Brownfields sites. Under this law, EPA provides financial assistance through four competitive grants: Assessment; Revolving Loan Fund; Cleanup; and Job Training Grants.

Renewable Energy Factors

Solar resources in the RDSBC areas are among the best in the nation for both Concentrating Solar Power (CSP) and Photovoltaic Systems (PV). Wind, geothermal, and biomass resources are also disbursed throughout the seven Coalition Members’ areas and provide vast potential for economic development and diversification.

RDSBC Brownfields Interactive Web Map

This interactive web map displays the RDSBC Brownfields assessed sites (orange dots) and the Nye County Brownfields Program 2002 and 2005 assessed sites (blue dots).